Amber’s Bookworms Anonymous 

Deep down, I am a true bookworm, and would rather be curled up in bed with a light-hearted read than out on the town getting white-girl wasted (although, don’t get me wrong, that is really fun every once in a while). A lot of people wouldn’t even associate me with reading, as I tend to keep this little hobby to myself, sort of a private retreat in my cosy bedroom hours.

So as I sit twiddling my thumbs this summer, I find myself reading a lot more than I did at Uni, and remembering why I love it so much. The way you can get lost in a book (if it’s a good one) is truly incredible and the desperate rush to get to the end means I end up skim reading a LOT of the last few chapters (guilty).

I have to admit, I get drawn in so much by pretty books. If the cover has vibrant colours or beautiful pictures, I’m sold. Even if the spine of the book will look really good on my shelf, I am tempted to buy it without even reading the blurb (how sad is that!).

Below, I’ve listed a few of my favourite recent books (I won’t babble about the actual storyline, otherwise you’ll have nothing to read).

                  
1) It’s not me, it’s you (by Mhairi McFarlane)

2) Summer Secrets (by Jane Green)

3) You’re The One that I want (by Giovanna Fletcher)

4) Beautiful Broken Things (by Sara Barnard)

I have honestly loved every single one, so much so, that I started to write a few lines about ‘why I love them’ under each title. Once I had written these small reviews, it suddenly dawned on me that every single one was the same (in so many words) and that you would all be completely bored of reading this post after the second review. So I decided to just do a quick excerpt of why I enjoyed all of them…

Each book was unique, which is something I definitely loved because it didn’t feel like I was reading a cliché. I loved them because I simply couldn’t put them down! Everywhere I went I had one of these books in my bag (whichever I was reading at the time) and would snatch it out at any opportune moment, just to read ahead a few pages. When a book is so good that you want to speed-read to the end, you know it’s a good’un.

A xx

Leave a Reply

